Reflecting.

I haven’t blogged in a while, and I promise I’ll do better as the new year rolls in, but I wanted to take a minute to reflect on 2012. It has been a big year for me. One that I will surely not forget. I started the year by doing a lot of firsts and lasts.

I went to two Winterballs this year, the Mormon one and my high school one. 

ImageImage 

Oh how I absolutely loved my dress in the second picture. I would wear ten times over. Honestly, those dances were the funnest that I’d been to in all of high school.

I dove headfirst into involvement at Copper Pointe Church. I got involved in a competition with them called “Fine Arts.” I got on a Human Video team, joined the group choir, the small group choir, a worship dance team, and did a worship dance solo. It was so great to be able to join something that highlighted the many talents that God has so truly blessed me with. 

ImageImage

It was just before we had our district competition that I got my long awaited acceptance to Brigham Young University. And while that meant that I got into my number one choice of school that meant that I would be leaving exactly a month after graduation and that I would miss a summer of memories with friends and Fine Arts Nationals… I knew that it was God’s plan for me to be there though– I didn’t have an awesome GPA, a slightly above average ACT score, and I wasn’t top of my class; all the odds of me getting in were stacked against me, but somehow I still managed to get in. 

I got to go on the most fun choir trip ever with my  best friends to San Antonio. We had swimming/hot tub parties, went to Six Flags, went to Sea World, walked around the Riverwalk, competed (and dominated), and created some of the most amazing memories together.

 Image

 

In May of 2012, I graduated high school with my best friends. I was so happy to finally be done and enjoy my summer, however, my summer was much more short lived than most seniors. With graduation out of the way, it was a short four weeks until I would be sitting in my first college course at BYU.

Image

 

I lived those few weeks between graduation and college up. I got my wisdom teeth out, went to California, went on a first date with one of my best friends ever, went to Girls Camp, went to the lake with my best friend and my family, and had my graduation party.

Image

 

Before I knew it, my mom was driving me up to college and I was wandering around campus all by myself. It was one of the scariest and yet most amazing feelings ever. I got blessed with the absolute best roommates ever who shared a summer of fights, laughs, heart break, parties, and studying with me. Despite the fact that I didn’t get to spend my summer the way I thought I would, at home with my family and friends, I got my foot in the college door and had one of the best summers ever.

Image

 

After an amazing summer in college, I got to come home for a couple of weeks. But then, after a short break, had to head back up to Utah for another long and hard semester. I decided to get involved this semester in a way my mother did and audition for a multi-cultural dance group, Living Legends. I didn’t know if I truly wanted to do the group, but I definitely do not regret auditioning. I made it and have since made some of the best friends ever.

Image

 

I was definitely nervous about this semester because I had had such a great first semester at BYU. Everything might not have gone perfectly, but I have made the best and most Christ-like friends ever. 

Image

 

I have been so incredibly blessed this year. This year has been a year of some of the most radical changes ever, but a year where I have truly grown and learned about myself. I have been through it all this year and God has blessed me with angels in the form of my friends and family to get me through every single trial and every success. Each year that I am given to live it gets harder, but better. I cannot thank God enough for all of my blessing, for each of you that have been placed in my life, and for my trials. I look back on this year with a smile on my face and I look forward to 2013 with mixed feelings, but mostly excitement. I cannot wait to brave the new year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

