Honduras.

I can’t believe I’ve been home from tour for a week now… Seriously, time blows my mind. Anyhows, here’s the second update on my tour. Honduras. 

ImageFrom the get-go, Honduras had me and struck me as such a fun country. We drove in and got settled into our hotel rooms and we had the night off. So we went to go eat. Then we went back to the hotel and showered. Us Native Girls were planning on having a Native Sista’s Real Talk night, but as soon as I got out of the shower I knew it wasn’t going to be. Alissa came into my room and told me that a ton of people were going Latin dancing and asked if I wanted to come. How could I resist? Latin dancing in Honduras with my best friends… There are few things that get better than that! So I speedily got ready and then we were out the door. We were walking around the plaza trying to find everyone when we ran in to some other Living Legends and were informed that Latin dancing was already over… It was only like 8:30… We were really sad… So we headed back to the hotel. But we didn’t give up there. On the roof of our hotel was a huge patio that overlooked Copan. So someone grabbed their speakers and we all gathered on the roof and Latin danced up there. It was a lot of fun actually! And the view was amazing. It felt like a movie honestly! People started to check out and go to bed, but a few of us stayed. I remember I had a great conversation with my best friend Mariah. Then, we kind of branched out and started talking to other people. I started talking to Izzy. We talked about school and life and then all of a sudden out of the blue he was like “Wouldn’t it be fun to throw paper airplanes off of the roof?” So he ran, got some paper, and then we had a competition to see whose paper airplane could go the farthest. His won… Then everyone on the roof joined! We threw them all over! And then when the people that were on the streets started to notice, we decided we should go pick them up. So we ran downstairs to clean them up, but ended up throwing them even more. It was such a fun night full of laughs! Honestly, one of the best nights of tour. And such a great way to start out our week in Honduras.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Our first show in San Pedro Sula was a doozy… When we got to the theater to set up it was hot as Satan’s chamber. No lie. It was just as hot as Phoenix in the middle of July with humidity. It was SO HOT. Earlier that week, Tianna hurt her knee and was sitting out a couple of numbers just to make sure that she didn’t hurt herself anymore. So both Birda and I were asked to fill in her spot in Warrior Suite. That number is so much harder than it looks. We rehearsed for two hours outside of the theater. It was a little crazy. For some reason, right before the show, I completely shut down. I just wanted to be alone, but on tour, that’s literally impossible. So the show went ok. It wasn’t my best or my worst. It was just ok. I was really upset that I shut down. I was mad at myself. The best experience happened during finale though. I was looking out in the audience, looking at all those people who loved us, and remembering why I was there, when my eyes beheld a little old lady in glasses. As soon as I saw the glare of her glasses, I was instantly reminded of when my family would come watch me dance when I was younger and how I could always find my family because I could see the glare of my grandma’s glasses. And it made me think of how much I miss my Chee-ee (my grandma) and how I wish that she could have seen me dance in Living Legends. And then all of a sudden, I was overwhelmed with this feeling that she was there with me and that she knew what I was doing and that she was never more proud of me in my whole life. Could not stop the tears from flowing. After finale, I had to take a few minutes to collect myself. It was one of the craziest, most spiritual experiences I ever had. 

Image

ImageWe got to go to the beach. No super exciting stories about the Omoa beach, but it was a lot of fun!

Image

Image

Image

ImageOne of the best parts of tour was the devotional before our first show in Tegucigalpa. Background for the story: During our first week in Guatemala, Ruby got a virus and was really sick. So when he was assigned to give the devotional, he was being quarantined. Also, we were all anxiously awaiting him to get his mission call. He turned in his papers before tour and knew it would be arriving on tour. But we still hadn’t heard anything about his mission call. Back to the story: So he was giving the devotional that night and I didn’t think anything of it because I thought he might have been making up for when he missed it. His devotional was on missionary work. Still didn’t think anything of it because I think all of our minds were consumed with missionary work. And then I remember him talking about how he never really understood how someone could love someone they’ve never even met before. But how he now understood because he loves the people of Central America and of BRAZIL. The crowd went wild. I started crying and everyone was cheering like crazy! Ruby is like my little brother and I could not have been more proud or happy for him. He’s more of a brother to me than most my guy friends because he’s native and he just reminds me of my brother. He also teases me like he’s my brother. Rude. But really. I was so happy for him. I cried for like 10 minutes. I swear…. That show was an amazing one. I was so filled with the spirit because of Ruby’s announcement. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageOn our last Sunday in Honduras we got to visit the Tegucigalpa Temple. It was gorgeous. It didn’t even look real, it looked that perfect! It was crazy. I absolutely fell in love with it. We got to attend church just a 30 second walk from the temple. Gorgeous. Over tour, we weren’t able to stay with host families, but that Sunday, we got to go eat lunch with host families and sit at church with host families. Luckily, my host family had a son that spoke english so I could talk to them, but it was such a blessing! They were so fun and we just enjoyed each other’s company. Being at their house reminded me of how simple life could and should be. I loved them. And I can officially say I have a Honduran family.

Image

Image

Image

I absolutely loved Honduras. We were welcomed with such beautiful sights and ended with such beautiful sights. It was a week full of spiritual experiences that I will not soon forget. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. Pingback: A Year in Review. | Shanoah Lauren

Leave a Reply

