The Daddio.

So it’s been a while since I’ve posted on my blog. In fact, I can’t even remember when I posted last/what it was even about. Can’t be having that. I think it’s because I feel like my life is pretty mundane and there’s not much to share, but the other day I was inspired to start writing again, so here’s to more writing on this blog!

On Friday my dad turned 60. I know, I know…. What an old man. But he’s my old man and age is seriously just a number in his life. He’s got the life and the spunk of a 30 year old. And he jokes around like a 21 year old. And if you know my dad at all, you know I’m not lying about that at all. We decided to have a birthday party for him since 60 is a pretty monumental age. And of course, being the Ulibarri’s, we had a themed party. What better theme for my dad’s party than Harley? I was so excited to get up in a leather vest and my combat boots. 

As part of the party, my mom really wanted to throw a momentum to him by us all telling our favorite Ernie stories. My dad is one of the funniest guys I know. He’s always cracking jokes and being a goof. And let’s not forget all his stories. I swear I could tell all of his stories word for word because I’ve heard them so much. But I’ve come to seriously enjoy those stories. Honestly though, even with all of his funny and goofy moments, I had a hard time thinking of a good story. And let me tell you, his story telling skills did not get passed down the tree to me. Sad day. But as I heard my brothers and sisters and my mom tell stories about my dad it made me feel so blessed to have such a great dad. Seriously. 

And as I’ve kind of been thinking of all that, it made me realize how much he truly cares about not only me, but my whole family. I was feeling really crummy the night of his party and departed early to lay in my moms room and find comfort in HGTV and my dad came in to check on me. He sat down and started on one of his long lectures again. But this time it made me cry because I seriously can’t handle the love that that man has inside of him. 

And honestly, I just want to share my favorite part about my dad. And that’s his lectures. I know that sounds silly and sometimes I even think it’s silly, but really. His lectures are some of my favorite. He’s one of the biggest supports in my life. And I know that his lectures are what I need to hear and pass down to my family. My future kids may not like that too much though… Oh well. But really. When my dad lectures me I know that it’s because he seriously wants the best for me. He wants me to be happy and successful. And it makes me feel so blessed to have such a supportive dad in my life. 

So even though sometimes I roll my eyes or am totally speachless when my lectures of not dating turn into lectures about finding the man I’m going to marry, I love them and I love him. He’s shown me how to love. And more than anything how to support. Oh, and let’s not forget that he’s taught me how to burp on command and make some of the ugliest faces in my book. I love you daddy! Happy birthday, Fat Man!

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

