Moving Out.

I wonder what this post is about… Yes, you guessed it. It’s my sentimental post about summer and how I’m going to miss it. I guess more so than just summer, this post is about home. And how awesome being home has been.

As I sit in my now empty room I’m reminded of all this summer held for me. All the fights, the screaming, the tears, the laughs, the smiles, the videos and pictures taken, all the friends made, all the friends lost, and all the goodbyes. 

This summer was a hard one. I’d been warned many times by my older friends at school that moving home wasn’t something that I should do. That I was going to hate it. And at first I did it. It came with a lot of trial and error for me. A lot of fights, a lot of tears, a lot of depression to be frank. Almost immediately, I regretted moving back and wanted to get back on the plane and fly straight to BYU. But then, I changed my mindset.

While moving home was tough, this summer has been amazing. I got my first job. I know, I know. I’m 19 years old and I barely just got my first job. But hey, it was something that needed to be done and it was a great first job. And not only that, that job brought me some amazing friends. And when I came home and saw that all my friends had moved on and were just as different as I was after a year of college, it was nice to make some  new friends and to feel welcomed. I also got to watch TV. I know that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but at college, I really only allow myself to watch TV when I eat. And I don’t like taking a long time to eat. So, I will probably only watch TV for about 20 minutes a day. If I’m lucky. I got to go to the lake with my family. I love the lake. I know Elephant Butte is more like a pond now, but it’s got so many memories. And every time we go I make even more. I got to get even closer to my family. If you know me, you know how close I am to my family. So it’s hard to imagine we could get any closer, but I did. And I absolutely love them to death. I got to go on vacation and go to Disneyland. I got to see my best friend. I made new best friends here. I got to stay up late and sleep in. I got to eat Ramen (I stopped letting myself buy Ramen in college. I would be that college kid that lives off of only Ramen if I didn’t). I got to play with my puppy and love my brothers. I got to dance. I got another little nugget in my family, baby Juliana. 

This summer started off rocky. And I didn’t know if I could make it through it. But this summer was an amazing blessing. It’s hard to let go of such a relaxing summer. Where I worked and then lazed around. But it’s good to get back to a schedule. And to stress. Silly, I know. But really. Another chapter has been written and is coming closer to a close with every “see ya later!” Here’s to the next. 

BYU HERE I COME!!

Leave a Reply

