The Cost of Discipleship.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my New Testament class? Easily one of my favorite classes I’ve ever taken. Ever.

This past week we were studying in Luke 5. And I think we all mostly know that as the chapter where Jesus calls Simon to be a fisher of men and not a fisher of fish. However, I think that’s the most that people get out of that chapter. And just like every week, my teach pointed out that there’s so much more to that verse than just to become a catcher of men. At the beginning of this chapter, Simon along with his friends and coworkers were cleaning up and shutting down after a long and what seemed a useless night of fishing. They had toiled all night long and had gotten nothing. Jesus comes and asks to use their boat to preach. After that, he asks Simon to let down his nets. Simon, being the expert fisher, is confused and somewhat frustrated with Jesus’ request. You can just imagine the tone of his voice in verse 5, “Master, we have toiled all the night, and have taken nothing: nevertheless at thy word I will let down the net.” Despite his exhaustion and confusion, he does what God commands Him. And he is greatly rewarded with too many fish to be able to deal with. After they go to shore with an abundance of fish, Jesus then asks Simon to leave the fish and instead become a fisher of men. Something that my teacher pointed out about this request it the difficulty it might have been to say yes to Jesus. Can you imagine after such an amazing catch how hard it would be to abandon ship (I’m punny) and leave everything that he had worked for to do something that he’s never done before? 

Jesus does that to us all the time. Jesus usually waits until it is hardest for you to say “I’ll go where you want me to go, dear Lord” to give you a calling on your life. Satan is constantly trying to catch us at our most vulnerable, when we have all the time in the world to say “ok,” when we have nothing to give up to get us to get us to succumb to his evil doings. 

Most people have this ideal of discipleship set in their minds. That once they decide to follow Christ and make Him their Savior, that the rest is easy from there. That is not the case though. The pathway to discipleship is going to cost you something. Whether it be friends, family, a job, whatever, it is going to cost you something and it’s not going to be easy. Discipleship is one of the hardest things to do. Jesus is constantly going to be trying your faith and so is Satan. Satan is going to try and make you give into the easy and less rewarding way of life. Jesus is going to try you and challenge you at all times, but these huge and costly tasks will shape you into who He needs you to be.

I am constantly in need of the reminder and constantly reminded that being a disciple of Christ is not easy work. And all of His callings on my life are often inconvenient and very tough to accomplish. But they are rewarding beyond belief and I know that God is using me in ways that I am not capable of on my own. The cost is big, but the reward is immeasurable. 

Leave a Reply

