The Storm.

Do you ever feel like your life is constantly a storm? You have winds trying to push you this way and that. And you try to stay on the right path, but you’re constantly being knocked down and pushed off course by the waves. 

Well let me tell you, I certainly have. Almost everyday. There’s always a new storm. There are those rare days of pure happiness, of a calm sea ahead, where I know exactly where I’m going and what I need to do. But there are those days where the winds are so strong and it feels like the waves are crashing over me left and right and all at once and I feel like I can’t do it. Like this is the end.

I know I’m not the only one who’s endured that. While my storms are metaphorical, the disciples of Christ experience real storms on the sea. In Matthew 8: 24-26 it reads, “And, behold, there arose a great tempest in the sea, insomuch that the ship was covered with the waves: but He was asleep. And his disciples came to him and awoke him, saying, Lord save us: we perish. And he saith unto them, Why are ye fearful, O ye of little faith? Then he arose, and rebuked the winds and the sea; and there was a great calm.”

You see, there wasn’t just the physical storm that the disciples experienced that night, but also an internal storm. The disciples of Christ let the physical storm cause their internal storm. They started to doubt and question the Lord. They didn’t understand why a man of such miracles would let them almost perish. Do you ever feel like that? Like when everything is going wrong and you’ve tried all you can, you just question “where is God?” It happens. We let our physical conditions, our physical state, our physical storms rule our internal peace.

Something that my teacher said that will stick with me forever is that these disciples who were in the same boat as Jesus thought they would drown and perish. However, they didn’t realize that when you’re in the same boat as Jesus, you’re not going to sink. I shared this same thought last week with Living Legends and my director added some more insight to this. She said, “When you feel like you’re drowning, don’t fear, for your greatest supporter walks on water.”

Wow. What a great affirmation. Let me tell you, last week was a rough week. In fact, just the night before my teacher taught this lesson, I felt the storm. And I gave in and let that storm defeat me. I needed this lesson so much. It’s so easy to forget that Jesus is still in the same boat sometimes. When He is laying low, it’s so easy to forget His power and His magnitude. I know that Jesus sometimes turns to me and says “Oh ye of little faith, why do ye fear?” But more than that, I know that Christ will always deliver me. That there is no storm too strong and too crazy for him to tame. I know that even if the physical storm continues, that God will calm my internal storm. And I know that He will do the same for everyone. He will always be in the same boat as you. He has the power to calm any storm you are going through. And He can give you strength to continue to endure the storms you face in life.

 

Leave a Reply

