Who You Are.

Growing up, especially in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints the lesson that we are children of God and created in His perfect image is stressed a lot. Especially among young women. I don’t think I’ve ever listened to a Young Women’s conference or a Relief Society session where at least one speaker stresses that we are perfect and beautiful and made by God’s crafting and loving hand.

But how much do we listen to that? Really. We are told that all our lives, but to we really listen? Because let me tell you, I’ve heard that a countless number of times, but I don’t always listen. And I’m always having to remind myself that I’m perfect in God’s eyes, whether I truly believe it or not.

Something that my New Testament teacher talked about with this principle is found in Mark 5:12, “And all the devils besought him, saying, Send us into the swine, that we may enter into them.” My teacher pointed out that the devil and his evil spirits would rather be in any body, even that of a swine, than in no body.

And while talking about bodies, he pointed something out to us. That a lot of the times, we allow ourselves to be defined by our bodies. And he reminded the class, that we are not the flesh. The flesh is a shrine that our spirits live in, but we are not the flesh.

Have you ever thought about what you’re telling God when you complain about your mortal body? Think about it. When you say “I hate my nose,” “I’m ugly,” “I would be prettier if….” you’re telling God that you don’t like His gift to you. That He made a mistake. But He didn’t.

You see, I believe in a perfect God. That never makes any mistakes. All of my shortcomings are perfectly crafted by His hand. They are not mistakes. They are gifts. Have you ever read the children’s book You Are Special? If you haven’t, stop reading this and go find that book and read it. We not only define ourselves by our outward flesh, but we also let others define us by our outward flesh. We let other people’s words label us and tell us if we are “Stars” or “Dots.” But the only opinion that should matter is our Creator’s. Our God who perfectly crafted and built us. And who did it in a way that is reflective of His perfect being.

Back to the verse in Mark 5 that I cited previously, you see, the devil would love to have our body. In fact, he will do anything to possess our body. Our body that is a gift from God is something that even the devil wants. So why do we take it for granted? And why do we wish for another?

We need to love our body and cherish it as a gift. God so loved us that He sent our spirits in these perfectly crafted bodies to earth to learn, choose, and live our lives. We are created after the perfect being. And he spent immense amount of time crafting us. We need to never take our bodies for granted. Whether they are capable or not of doing this or that, or whether we are as pretty as her or as sculpted as him, we need to not put our own bodies down.

I know this video is kind of old news by now, but I love this video. This video is something that I think that not only women, but everyone needs to be reminded. You are enough. You are worthy of love and affection. You are worth more than you could ever imagine. This video brings tears to my eyes every time because it’s always the reminder I need. Whether I am having the best day ever or the worst day, I am always in need of this reminder.

I just want you to know that these words are true. Whoever is reading this. You are worth more than you could ever imagine. You are so much more than your physical appearance and your physical body. You are so much more than you downfalls and so much more than your strengths.

Leave a Reply

