A Family Affair.

Ok, so this post is a week late, but forgive me. With a finance midterm this week, it’s been the longest craziest week of life. 

Anyhows, so last week, my family got to come up! It was my first time seeing them in three months and it was much needed. They came up to watch my dance show. I was so excited and nervous all at once. They got here and we did what we normally do, we went out to eat before my show. It was so good to be with everyone again. I caught them up on all the latest (aka, school is hard and boys are sissy-nana’s and I have the best friends ever). Then it was time for me to report to duty. I was so nervous for this show because it was my “big debut” as a hoop dancer. I knew close to 30 people coming and I was so nervous. Never before had that many people come. But I went in with so many prayers for this show. Of course the show started out great because the Native girls got down to “Turn Down For What” in the wings as we were waiting for the show to start. I love those girls with everything inside of me. Before hoop, I knelt and said a huge prayer for Joel and I as we took the stage… We had put so many hours of practice into hoop and we knew we could do it, it was just a matter of actually doing it. I braced myself and took the stage…. And….. WE DID IT. One of my world’s fell apart, but I was able to do a makeshift world in a matter of like 1.5 seconds. I could not stop smiling. Best believe that when we exited the stage I jumped up and down yelling BOOOOOMMMM and saying “I did it!” I was in complete shock and awe and complete and utter daze that I actually did it. It was the best feeling ever. And I got to share that experience with my family and closest friends. I could not stop smiling for the life of me. And all of my friend’s made me feel even better about it all by their reactions when I saw them after the show. I was above and beyond cloud nine. I had never felt more loved, supported, and strong friendship in those moments. It was the best night of my life to this day. Then my family and I headed to the always good Roll Up Cafe for some dessert. It was such a perfect night. When I think about it, I still smile with the most overwhelming feelings of gratitude.ImageImageImageImageImageImage

On Friday, I took the day off, slept in and prepared myself for a long, but great day with my family. We rented a puppy. Last year when my sister visited, that’s all she wanted to do, but unfortunately, all the spots were full and we weren’t able to, but this year, I was prepared and reserved a puppy a week in advance and we had the greatest time. The little stinker peed on my floor, but with a face like he had, how could I get mad? We took him on a walk and watched as he terrified some ducks (which was hilarious to say the least) and then we headed back home to return him. It was so cute and so fun. Then we went to the ever famous Slab Pizza. If you haven’t been, go. It’s so delicious. After that, my mom and dad went to go shopping and get stuff for dinner and my brother, sister, and I just walked around campus. I gave Cheese the grand tour and it was great. Then we headed home to get dinner ready. I was having some of my closest friends from my ward and from last year over for dinner. And my mom made navajo taco’s. To say they were delectable is an understatement. They were so good and I sure missed my mother’s cooking. I love showing my friends to my family and my family to my friends. We had such a great time. Then, my family and I headed to campus to go to the Pow Wow. I love Pow Wow. I love watching the dances and the cool foot work, I love seeing the beautiful and flawless regalia, I love buying some cool jewelry, I just love it all. Then we called it a night, went home (and by home, I mean my uncle’s house), watched an episode of Chopped and called it a night.ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageOn Saturday, we woke up at the crack of 9 AM and got to getting ready. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast of eggs, toast, and loads of bacon with my uncle and aunt. It was actually a really great breakfast. One of the best parts was that as we all slowly started filtering in from downstairs, we were all wearing black shirts and jeans. Great minds think alike. We then headed off to Kaysville to go visit my grandma and grandpa. It was so great to see them. It has been months since I’ve seen them, but I just love visiting them. I love going with my family as well because we just tell stories about all the fun we had as kids visiting the Wellings. We talked, caught up on life, performed for them, and then said our goodbye’s. A short, but great trip. Then we went to Salt Lake for a couple of hours to shop. It was some good therapy that I needed. Retail therapy, it’s a real and a dangerous thing. But luckily, I didn’t go too overboard. After a couple of hours at City Creek, we headed back to Provo to have dinner with my family. It was such a great dinner. We even played a super fun game afterwards called Tenzie’s. If you’ve never heard of it, I highly recommend it. Such a great night. After that, Aubrey, Michael and I went to Laser Assault for a good ol’ game of Laser Tag with the Native’s. It was a ton of fun and we DOMINATED. And what would a night out with the Native’s be without going to get something to eat? We had some good ol’ McDonald’s and some good laughs, and then called it a night. But Aubrey and I weren’t done. After dropping Michael off, we headed back to go hang out with my friends in my ward. She wanted me to dye her hair before they left the next morning, so when it hit 1 AM, we figured we should probably get started. Tessley spent the night that night, so she came over and talked with us and we filmed a project for one of my classes. It was a great night.

ImageImageImageImageImageThe next morning, we got up bright and early to pack the car up and head to church. I was very happy to have my family by my side during church. And while they didn’t get to stay the full three hours, I was happy to spent just a couple more hours with them.

Family is the best. I have been reminded so many times over again about how amazing my family is. We are highly dysfunctional, but they are my best friends and my eternal Ohana and I wouldn’t trade them for the world. That weekend and seeing my family was exactly what I needed after three months of one of my hardest semester’s ever. I miss them so much, but I can’t wait to see them in just a few weeks now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

